Birthday Bonanza

My man’s birthday falls during the busiest week of anybody’s spring semester: finals week. This year, I had two finals the day after his birthday, which meant I had to sequester myself in my house for the entire day to cram my head with facts about wastewater treatment and urban traffic design. In other words: poop and traffic. Yeah, you know you’re jealous of my schooling. Anyway, the thing about Sean is that there isn’t much in life that he really wants other than gear (the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree–his dad has a whole room dedicated to his mountaineering gear) and food. So I could either ask him exactly what climbing gear he wanted and have no surprise or plan a whole day of food for him and surprise him at each meal. You can probably guess what I chose.

Breakfast: Mixed Berry Yogurt Parfait and Orange Juice

Parfait

6 oz. Stonyfield Farm No-Fat Pomegranate Berry yogurt

~1/3 cup vanilla almond granola–most grocery stores have this in bulk in their organic section

~1/2 cup mixed berries–I used Wyman’s and thawed them overnight with a sprinkling of sugar

Layer half the granola, half the yogurt, and half the berries in a glass. Then do a second layer in the same order. I used a Belgian beer glass and everything fit perfectly.

Mmm, healthy and organic!

While I studied all day, Sean and his best friend went climbing. But before that, I made lunch. I used a whole wheat baguette to make roast beef subs with green pepper, black olives, cheddar cheese, yellow mustard, and mayo. I even made one for myself, and admittedly liked it, but I won’t post a recipe for that because it’s pretty much self-explanatory.

The big fun comes next.

Dinner: Lasagna Cupcakes with Oatmeal Stout

When my love affair with Pinterest first began, I found a link to a recipe for Petite Lasagnas. I thought they were adorable and loved the idea of portion control. Unfortunately portion control only works if you eat one of them, and I think I ate three and the boys ate four each. Sean loves pasta and cheese of all forms (except goat and bleu, in the cheese case), so I figured his birthday would be a good day to try out the recipe. I won’t post the whole recipe here, because it is not mine, but you can find it at the link above.

A few substitutions that I made were that I used a package of chicken sausages instead of ground turkey (because I hate working with raw meat…), and I used black olives instead of mushrooms because Sean is an olive fiend. It was a lot easier to find the wonton wrappers than I thought, and if we have them here in the middle of nowhere, you should be able to find them anywhere. I should also note that some were really hard to get out of the muffin tin because I didn’t oil them enough (I just ran a paper towel with some olive oil over the tin because I don’t have cooking spray).

All of the ingredients set out

Makes me hungry just looking at them…

After the boys had inhaled their cupcake lasagnas, I brought out the pie. But that, my friends, will have to wait for next week. It was so delicious that it deserves a post to itself.

One thought on “Birthday Bonanza

  1. Pingback: Apple Cupcrisps | Fland-Made

Leave a Reply

