A New Bloggoproj

Sometimes I feel like I am the queen of unfinished projects. I have a pile of half-knitted hats tucked away in my closet and two dangling blogs kicking around the blogoshere. So why, you ask, am I starting yet another? The simple answer is that it has been raining. A lot. Usually I can deal with a few days of rain, but it is summer, and I am antsy. So what else is there to do in the rain but craft (besides kiss Notebook-style)?

I have decided to create this blog as homage to a subject that has had numerous books written about it: the art of making things by hand. In this blog, you will find:

-Cooking experiments/recipes

-Knitting projects

-Sewing projects

-Painting projects

-Other crafty things

-Pictures of cats

That last one I must apologize for. I have two of my own cats and one of my boyfriend’s cats in the house right now, so it’s really not my fault that cats are in every picture I take…really.

So today, to start out easy, I will share my recipe for the perfect breakfast. I get bored of breakfast foods rapidly. Growing up, it would be Eggo one week and bagels the next. But this breakfast is so good that I have been eating it for longer than I can remember, which means about 7-8 months. It all started because my parents went on a huge weight-losing kick, and I was feeling a little chunky after a stressful summer, so I thought I would join them. This breakfast, in combination with many many other factors, somehow brought me to my goal.

I was brought up without a microwave. Naturally, this means that I am now fascinated with how quickly a microwave cooks things (though I promise my love of microwaves doesn’t go far, mom). As a result, I present this recipe as the microwave version, and not the stove-boiled, milk-less version my parents eat.

Blueberry Breakfast Oatmeal (A.K.A. Gruel)

1/2 cup quick oats

3/4 cup skim milk

1/2 tbsp brown sugar (you really don’t need much, I promise)

1/4 cup frozen (or fresh, if they’re in season) blueberries

Combine the first three ingredients and microwave for 2 minutes. Add the blueberries and stir to thaw. If you like your oatmeal piping hot, put it back in the microwave for 30 seconds, but I like my gruel cold 🙂

Makes 1 serving at approximately 262 calories.

Anyway, more to come!

Cheers!

-Fland

Mmm, Rogue Porter!

2 thoughts on “A New Bloggoproj

Leave a Reply

