Bathroom Decoration

I am a college student. I live in an apartment. My roommate and I selected this apartment because it was the first one we looked at and we were busy and we really didn’t know what we were doing. Nonetheless, we have lived here for a little over two years now, and I will probably miss it when we move out.

The rent is high for it being so old and well lived-in (to say it in the most polite way possible), but if I told city-dwellers what it is they would probably laugh. When we moved in, the place had grease-smeared walls (seriously, what do people DO in apartments?), grimy floors, dirt-caked corners and sills and sinks, etc. The bathroom was cramped, particularly due to a behind-the-toilet rack that served as toilet paper stand and, more importantly, cat lookout.

Oh hey mum. No, I’m not going to move just because you have to pee. I was here first.

Over the course of the two years, we (read: my roommate) have done a lot to fix the place up. My roommate and her mother collaborated to paint the living room walls–bye-bye grease smears–and strip the pepto-bismol-pink wallpaper out of the bathroom so it could be painted. Since it is an apartment after all, we could only paint in neutral colors, but, like the cliches say, it’s amazing what a fresh coat of paint will do. Too bad you can’t paint over mouse holes.

My job has been to keep up with the day-to-day cleaning and most of the dead mouse pick-up. I also occasionally get a splash of artistic desire, usually due to rain, which is where the project I am about to describe to you came from.

We have an AC Moore nearby, so if I am ever feeling that crafting itch, I just go there and let the inspiration take over. I never end up spending more than $20, and the results are usually pretty cool. This particular time, I picked up some paints, paint brushes, and fake flowers and went to work.

Eternally Blooming Painted Mason Jar Vase

What you’ll need:

1 pint glass mason jar

I used wide-mouth, because that’s what we use for drinking glasses, but for a vase the smaller mouth ones would probably work better.

Assorted acrylic paint colors

I just looked for paints that said you could use them on glass. I really don’t know anything about painting aside from what I learned in preschool.

Paint brushes

Get a range of sizes of bristle brushes for detail work and some smallish foam ones if you want to paint the whole jar first.

Assorted fake flowers

AC Moore frequently does sales on the nicer, more flowery-looking ones.

This would work well as an activity for children (or bored adults, though I’m sure more artistic adults could come up with much better designs than I did). I just plunked myself down at the kitchen table, spread out some newspapers, and had a ball slopping paint onto the mason jar. Since I do not have painting skills of any kind, I simply painted the jar white (the color of our bathroom) and added a few flowers, butterflies, and dragonflies. Then, after it was dry, I trimmed the flowers and plopped them in. Voila!

All done!

The flowers in their final resting place atop the toilet.

It didn’t take long and isn’t anything extravagant, but it definitely adds a splash of color to our otherwise dingy and disintegrating bathroom. Do you have painting skills? Have you ever painted something out of boredom? What was it, and how did it turn out?

Leave a Reply

