Furniture!

In a month or so, I will be leaving the mouse-ridden but homey apartment where I have lounged with my roommate and our children (cats) for two years. I will be living alone, which both terrifies and excites me. I’m also going to miss my roomie something awful, but that’s not the point of this point.

The point of this post is that I do not have very much furniture. I have an Ikea poang chair and an old rocking chair, but forget about a kitchen table (my roomie’s) or a coffee table (my roomie’s) or any dining chairs (you guessed it). So I’ve started to realize that if I want to fill up my beautiful new high-ceilinged living room, I am going to have to start scrounging.

Luckily I started thinking about this around the time that people started moving out of their apartments and either leaving the area or moving to different digs–Sean included. While hastily chucking or moving anything and everything Sean owned, we discovered his old coffee table in his garage. It was so dusty that it could serve as an efficient Martha Stewart repellant, and it was covered with bumper stickers. When Sean told me I could have it, the first thing that popped into my head was this kitchen accessory that I had found on Stumble Upon or Pinterest.

I have never re-finished or painted any furniture, so I decided to do some internet research. The problem? Everything I found conflicted. Some said use oil paint, some said NEVER use oil paint. Some said use primer, others said…use primer. Okay, everybody said use primer. I didn’t. Whatever, the paint was self-priming, and I only had to do three coats.

I’ve been talking a lot. Here’s a picture.

Before!

This morning we woke up to pouring rain, and, it being Sunday, I wanted to avoid the doldrums as much as possible. Sean was moping because he had wanted to go climbing, so we decided to “do something.” This translated to going to Home Depot to get tomato cages and paint for the table.

I had the color I wanted in mind, and I found it almost instantly. I decided on a semi-gloss for the table for a balance between not-too-shiny and spill-wipe-up-ability.

Southern blue color!

So instead of following any of the conflicting tutorials, I did what seemed intuitive–sand, paint, paint, paint.

After three coats…

I am so dern excited! I love how it looks, I love how it feels, and I love that I did it myself.

Oh, and it ended up being sunny today, and Sean got to climb a little. Yeah, this was an awesome day 🙂

3 thoughts on “Furniture!

    • It’s a coffee table, similar to Alice and Andrew’s, but it doesn’t have a glass top (obviously). Sean had it in his garage. A friend of his gave it to him a few years ago. I’m glad you like the color!

Leave a Reply

