Falafalafalafel

I would like to preface what I am about to say by asserting that I love people. People of all kinds. People are awesome.

But I currently hate two kinds of people: those that do not get crippling PMS, and those that can survive more than two overcast days without getting grumpier than a wet cat. Combine those two things and add routine hunger irritation and you have a rain-soaked girl standing in the cracker aisle of the grocery store trying not to cry because she can’t find the @#$%^%$# wheat crackers.

This same girl will also yell at her boyfriend for not getting the right Oreos (though seriously, who shows up with golden Oreos? Pfft.) She’s not proud of it.

Anyhow, this is how I made up for it all:

I made falafel! This is a recipe that my sister has been making for years, and I have never had it go wrong–even when I once didn’t have onion or fresh garlic.

Falafel

1 cup dried chickpeas (soaked overnight, or just use a can, which I usually do)

2 tbsp parsley (I don’t like parsley, so I just double the cilantro)

2 tbsp cilantro

½ large onion, chopped

4 cloves garlic

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp salt

1 tsp chipotle

1 egg (optional, though I find it helps hold the patties together)

Process ingredients in food processor until coarsely ground. I find that processing the chickpeas and onions separately is much faster, particularly if you use one of those mini food processors and then mix everything together in a bowl.

Add in:

1 tsp baking powder

4-6 tbsp flour

Mix well and form patties to sauté in olive oil. This recipe makes 8 small patties. Serve with tzatziki and Naan (available in most grocery stories, or you can make it yourself, though I haven’t tested that yet!).

OMG TZATZIKI!

So there are probably a million recipes for tzatziki out there, but I’ve never used one. Here’s how it goes:

Two-Minute Tzatziki

What you need:

16 oz. zero-fat plain Greek yogurt

1 large cucumber, diced

1 tbsp lemon juice

1 tsp salt

Pepper to taste

Mix all of the ingredients in a bowl. Yep, that’s it.

One thought on “Falafalafalafel

Leave a Reply

