What’s For Dinner?

What’s for dinner?

Yep, you’ve got it. Yet another recipe post. Maybe we would be getting somewhere else if I hadn’t tried to cast on that sweater late the other night. After failing twice, I decided that knitting would have to wait until I was no longer distracted, overheated, and sleep-deprived.

I have this new goal that I want my “Foods I Have Made” board on Pinterest to be more extensive than my “Foods to Make” board. Unfortunately I am not doing a very good job keeping up with it because I keep finding fun recipes that I want to try (particularly bread ones…). This buffalo chicken recipe was one I pinned ages ago, and I am so glad that I finally got around to making it! I had never made anything with a slow cooker before, so Alexis let me use hers (which I’m pretty sure is from the 80’s). This is a good weeknight menu, and aside from the initial prep time before the chicken goes in for four hours, it’s essentially a 30-minute meal.

Organic chicken: More expensive, but tastier and better for everybody — including the chickens.

Menu

Drink: Dark and Stormy (My version: 2 shots black spiced or dark rum, 1 bottle ginger beer, 1 lime wedge, squeezed and sunken)

Protein: Crock Pot Buffalo Chicken (sans lettuce wraps) with Skinny Blue Cheese Dressing

Greens: Mixed green salad with shaved carrots, celery, and Balsamic Vinaigrette

Veggie: Boiled corn (remove husk, boil for seven minutes, apply butter liberally)

Dessert: Frozen chocolate-covered bananas (see below)

Homemade banana baby.

As part of our desire to eat more healthfully, Sean and I have been finding “healthy” desserts to satisfy those occasional (coughconstantcough) sweets cravings. The other day we bought a package of Banana Babies, which are chocolate covered bananas on sticks that you can buy at the grocery store. One box is $3.99 and contains six banana halves dipped in dark chocolate. Now here’s some math for you: Bananas are sold at 57 cents a pound (or 79 cents if you get organic, like you should), and a bag of dark chocolate chips is around $2.50 depending on the brand (we got Hershey’s). The kicker is that one bag of dark chocolate chips covers approximately nine bananas depending on the size of the banana and the thickness of the coating, so each banana half is approximately 39 cents, saving you over a dollar! Okay, this isn’t tremendously impressive, but my method takes about five minutes, so making your own Banana Babies is well worth your time and money.

Chocolate Covered Bananas

Ingredients:

bananas

3/4 cup dark chocolate chips

1/2 tbsp canola oil (or other neutral cooking oil)

1. Cover a cookie sheet with wax paper.

2. Remove banana peels and slice bananas in half.

3. Put chocolate chips and canola oil in a microwave-save bowl and microwave for 30 seconds. Stir the mixture and repeat until chocolate chips have all melted.

4. Roll the bananas in the chocolate until coated and place them on the cookie sheet. Once all banana halves have been coated, spoon the remaining chocolate onto the bananas to cover fingerprint spots.

5. Place cookie sheet in freezer and wait until chocolate hardens (if you like a soft banana) or until frozen through.

6. If you prefer a banana on a stick, spear the ends of the bananas with popsicle sticks before you freeze them.

Makes 6 servings at 133 calories each.

2 thoughts on “What’s For Dinner?

  1. Mmm! That looks easy and delicious! Andrew thought the chocolate covered bananas were disgusting, being a banana hater…

Leave a Reply

