The Iron Experiment

My secret ingredient…for everything.

So in spite of the picture above, this post isn’t really about my secret ingredient (which really I only use for quick dips and the dinner I am going to describe below). It’s about the fact that I have recently found myself feeling rather iron-low. Most of that is because of this:

Yep.

Sooo yeah. If you have glasses identical or similar to these from IKEA, be super careful when you wash them/drink from them/touch them because they have a tendency to SPONTANEOUSLY EXPLODE. And then take a giant chunk out of your thumb before you go on a climbing trip. True story.

Anyway, I had begun feeling dizzy, disoriented, grumpy, etc., which are all symptoms of many things, but would also be fairly easy to fix if they happened to be symptoms of a slight iron deficiency. I also eat very little meat and am a 20-something female…so before I spend a bajillion dollars going to the doctor (which never really works out for me anyway), I intend to pump up my iron intake by taking a complex multivitamin and eating more foods that are high in iron.

For those of you who are also trying to up your iron intake, this meal is a good one. Try it and let me know what you think! This is one of those recipes that is more of a suggestion of things to put together. The actual cooking/creating isn’t particularly intensive.

Huevos Rancheros a la Fland

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed

1-2 tablespoons Southwest Chipotle Mrs. Dash seasoning (depending on how spicy you like things)

1 egg

1 cup baby spinach

2 tablespoons zero-fat plain Greek yogurt

4 tablespoons salsa

1 very ripe avocado

1/4 lime

1 clove garlic, minced

Salt & pepper

1. Peel and smush the avocado into a bowl.

2. Squeeze in the lime and mix in the garlic.

3. Taste and add salt and pepper as needed.

4. Combine the beans and seasoning in a pot and heat until warm and starting to look a little more like refried beans than canned beans.

5. Fry the egg in your fat of choice (I use olive oil). You can also scramble, poach, or hard-boil your egg. Whichever you prefer.

6. Assemble your “huevos,” as Sean refers to them. Layer the spinach, 1 cup of the beans beans, egg, salsa, about half the guacamole, the Greek yogurt, and maybe a little cheese. Yum.

One serving of this is a whopping 68% of your daily value of iron. And also a whopping 1054 calories, according to my calculations. Try leaving out the yogurt or the guac if you want to cut down on calories.

 

2 thoughts on “The Iron Experiment

Leave a Reply

