Leek, Beef, and Barley Soup with Kale

It is no secret that I love Smitten Kitchen. You know that book, Julie and Julia, about the woman who decides to work her way through Julia Child’s recipes? I feel like I am the same way with SK. I want to make everything she has posted on that site, because every time I make something, I love it. I have not had a single dud recipe (which is why I cannot  wait for her cookbook to come out in October). This soup was no exception.

This soup is holy. The smells that waft through the house while it simmers for three hours are so divine that it was distracting. How can I concentrate on concrete design when all I want to do is plunge headfirst into my Dutch oven and drown in my own saliva?

So, without further ado, I give you:

Step One…

Leek, Beef, and Barley Soup with Kale

From Smitten Kitchen with one small adaptation and one addition. Makes about 10 servings.

1 pound stewing beef

3 leeks

2 medium yellow onions

3 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 cup barley

8 cups beef stock

1/2 head kale, de-stemmed and washed

1. Place a 5-qt. Dutch oven on your stovetop. Dump the meat in the bottom.

2. Slice your (washed) leeks down the center and cut into small slices. Use as much as the green part that isn’t super tough. Toss this into the pot.

3. Toss your diced onions, minced garlic, barley, and beef stock into the pot.

4. Bring to a boil and simmer for 3 hours.

Step Two…

5. When you are ready to eat, put in the kale and simmer until tender, about 5 minutes.

6. Eat and behold the wonder of beef and barley soup on a cool fall day. Really, you’ll want to become a Beef Monk. Or something. Oh, and I recommend crusty bread to go along with it. Mmm, crusty bread.

Step three…

My Rudimentary Analysis Says:

1 serving = 305.7 g = 163 Calories

This soup is very high in protein and iron, but is also high in sodium. If you have worries about sodium intake, I would suggest using 4 cups beef stock and 4 cups water or a low sodium stock. I couldn’t find any low sodium beef stock at my grocery store. Also, apparently there are a lot of fake beef stocks out there, so be careful! The original recipe uses short ribs for the meat, which are probably tastier, but much higher in fat than stewing beef. I don’t think the stewing beef is that much of a sacrifice, because it comes out perfectly tender and delicious!

4 thoughts on “Leek, Beef, and Barley Soup with Kale

  1. Is it better to first brown the meet.I browned my short ribs first the last time I made this delicious soup,or does it not make a difference.

    • I don’t brown mine because it takes longer. I’m not sure if it makes much of a difference because I have never browned it, but by the end of the cooking time the meat is falling apart anyway, so I’m not sure it would make that much of a difference!

Leave a Reply

