A New Kind of Oatmeal

So remember how I said I eat oatmeal every single morning for breakfast? (Weekends like this past one aside, of course — don’t get me started on pumpkin pancakes and veggie-stuffed omelets made by Papa Stroth). Every morning I plop some quick oats in a bowl, microwave ’em up, dump in some frozen blueberries, and it’s a right old nom fest. But last Friday I decided to change things up a bit because I have been craving pumpkin like nothing else.

Pumpkin oatmeal with blueberries.

I found this recipe by googling pumpkin oatmeal and made a few modifications to make it dairy-free. I also left out the banana, because I don’t think I could take that much food in the morning.

Pumpkin Oatmeal

Makes two servings.

1 cup old fashioned oats

1 1/4 cups unsweetened almond milk

1/2 cup unsweetened organic pumpkin

4 shakes cinnamon

2 shakes nutmeg

1/2 cup blueberries

Brown sugar, honey, or maple syrup to taste

1. Mix the oats, almond milk, pumpkin, and spices in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Turn heat down and simmer for 5 minutes. Test to make sure the oats are soft. If not, cook longer. This is also a good time to taste it to see if it is sweet enough and add your sweetener of choice.

2. Add in the blueberries and serve up. Yumm!

In other news, Sean and I hiked his neighborhood mountain with his dad last weekend. It was cloudy when we started out, but once we got up to the alpine pond at the top of the mountain, the sun was starting to peek out. It turned out to be a perfect fall day! We came home to a pile of kale chips (ohmygodomnomnom I pretty much ate them all while everybody else was distracted) and I made some quinoa-stuffed acorn squash (recipe another time, if I make it again and take pictures…ask me if you want the link!). Then Sean made some Banana Babies to satisfy our sweets craving.

Which reminds me…I promised you a list of “healthy” dessert ideas, didn’t I? How about not eating dessert?

Just kidding.

Better-Choice Desserts

Banana babies: 133 calories each…or, let’s face it, 266 calories, because you can’t eat just one.

One-serving Oatmeal Raisin Cookie: ~280 calories and easy to make…if you happen to have egg whites sitting around.

Microwave baked apple: 134 calories per serving (depending on the sweetener you use).

Lemon Pineapple Cream Pie: If you can eat just one piece, you’re my hero. And you’re only eating, umm…well, I don’t know the calorie count because it’s given in weight watcher’s points. But it isn’t too bad for you if you only eat one piece.

Banana ice cream: One of those Pinterest finds that makes me happy. Blend up some bananas, milk (or non-dairy substitute), and top with normal ice cream sauces. Voila. Non-dairy ice cream. The web site I linked to shows some cool modifications to make different flavors. Heck yeah.

So…I hope you like fruits, specifically bananas, because they’re your key to eating better desserts.

Happy sweets cravings, everybody!

5 thoughts on “A New Kind of Oatmeal

  1. You’re the third person I follow to post a pumpkin oatmeal today. I wish that I liked oatmeal because yours looks amazing!!

    • Haha tis the season. I hated oatmeal until I started making it with milk (or in this case almond milk) instead of water. It’s the only thing that keeps me full til lunch…I love it.

Leave a Reply

