Tuscan Chicken Soup

Last Wednesday, I had my friend Ariel over for dinner since I had not really caught up with her since last May. It was a cold week last week, so I decided to make soup and mulled cider.

Carrots on the chopping block…

I love being able to take some time to really pay attention to what I’m cooking. I wanted the meal to be extra special for Ariel because she just announced that she’s having a baby boy, and I wanted to celebrate the news, so I allowed myself several hours for preparation. My boss/advisor/professor/friend had informed me earlier that day that I can get Wait Wait…Don’t Tell Me! episodes on my iPhone as Podcasts, so I downloaded a few and got to work.

My little helper.

Little Zee would not leave me a lone while I was cooking…probably because the first thing I did was shred the rotisserie chicken. It was really cozy in my little kitchen, dicing veggies and listening to Peter Sagal’s dulcet tones.

We keep the table settings simple around here.

I even made some focaccia…or at least tried to. My yeast appears to be dead, so it turned out more like a cracker. I do love having stuff to dip in my soup, through!

Focaccia…cracker.

It was a ton of fun cooking for someone other than myself and Sean for once, and it was so nice to catch up with Ariel. Hopefully I will have her over again soon : )

You can find the recipe for Tuscan Chicken Soup at Peanut Blossom. I omitted the cream and it was incredibly tasty nonetheless. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Tuscan Chicken Soup

Leave a Reply

