Top Five Reasons Why I love Rotisserie Chickens

1. They’re relatively inexpensive. Depending on the size of the chicken, they range from $5-$7 around here, and they usually last 3-4 days for me.

2. They’re fun to dismantle. There is something primevally satisfying about digging your hands, fork, knife, teeth, etc. into roasted meat and tearing it from the bones. Sorry if that was too graphic, vegetarians.

3. I am afraid of raw meat. Okay, I’ll admit it. I am a raging germaphobe (although I am a lot better than I used to be). Raw meat can be full of pathogens, and I have only recently started to attempt cooking with it. Rotisserie chickens come with the bleep roasted out of them. ‘Nuff said.

4. They have a million and one uses. Once you’re done making soup, enchiladas, thai curry, and cat food, you can boil it with some veggies and spices and you have a ton chicken stock.

5. They’re convenient. Everybody loves cutting out a few steps in their cooking routine if they have limited time. While I think recipes that consist entirely of pre-packaged, pre-made ingredients are laughable, it can be really nice to have your chicken cooked already, especially if you’re making something that is otherwise quick to assemble (like enchiladas or burritos).

4 thoughts on “Top Five Reasons Why I love Rotisserie Chickens

Leave a Reply

