Flu Shots and Comfort Food

I have a rather embarrassing confession to make. So here goes: Flu shots make me (almost) pass out. I don’t know if it’s the fact that I’m getting a shot or general anxiety about the flu or if it’s the shot itself, but, inevitably, about a minute after the shot, I start sprouting cold sweat and my vision gets all black-dotty and I have to start wondering where I am going to throw up.

So I got a flu shot yesterday, and the usual happened, but I survived and managed to keep my lunch down. Phew.

I have another confession to make. Lunch was McDonald’s. It was the first time I have eaten McDonald’s since I was probably about 6 years old. But it was totally worth it, all for this guy:

Papa

My papa. Sorry about the toilet in the background; at least we’re both smiling.

Getting back into a good routine after vacation can be hard, especially when you have three furry hellions who are steadfastly determined to prevent you from EVER SLEEPING. And especially when you have spent vacation somewhere warm and wonderful and come home to snow and a ceiling full of mouse poop and a bunch of messes to clean up.

Don’t get me wrong. I LOVE my job. I adore being a research assistant. I love my felines. But I don’t adore Old Town, my apartment, or not sleeping. So I took a little mini vacation yesterday to visit my grandfather, get a flu shot, and read a Tony Hillerman novel.

For dinner, I cooked up some comfort food.

IMG_1785

I don’t know if ramen can technically qualify as comfort food, but it definitely is for me for two reasons. The first reason is that in elementary school, my best friend Jessie and I ate gallons of it. We had a half day every Thursday, and every other Thursday we would go to her house and eat ramen before playing for the rest of the day. One of my favorite pictures from my childhood is of the two of us with our faces covered in ramen.

The second reason is that we eat ramen while backpacking and camping. There isn’t much that is more satisfying than a salty bowl of ramen after you have been sweating all day.

Lauren’s Comfort Ramen

1 package mushroom (or other flavor) ramen, prepared as directed

1 cup frozen peas

1 clove garlic

1 tbsp olive oil

1 egg, lightly beaten

1. While the ramen cooks, heat the oil in a frying pan and sauté the garlic until aromatic.

2. Add the peas and cook until thawed.

3. Add the egg to the peas and cook until it is no longer gooey.

4. Find yourself the deepest bowl you possess that isn’t a mixing bowl and pour in the ramen. Top it with your egg/pea mixture and curl up under a fleece blanket while you watch cartoons.

What? No, mom, I wasn't sitting on the floor.

What? No, mom, I wasn’t sitting on the floor.

 

2 thoughts on “Flu Shots and Comfort Food

Leave a Reply

