Strawberries and Cream Biscuits

Independence day. The 4th. It’s a day that has always meant fresh strawberries, hot dogs cooked over an open fire, s’mores on my fingers, and sparklers on the dock. It has always been a family day, too, in such a way that I love it even more than the winter holidays. This year, we’ll have everybody together — my parents, my sister and brother-in-law, and Sean and me — and I could not be more excited.

IMG_2752

Two weekends ago, Sean and I traveled south to Massachusetts to get my car inspected. Embarrassingly, my inspection was due in January, and I somehow didn’t manage to get it done until June…whoops! The upside of the trip was that we got to stay with my sister and brother-in-law at their house in Central Mass. They’re pretty much our two favorite people, so we had a blast, even though Alice was on call and away for one of the nights.

On Saturday night, we made a feast and had my mom over (dad was in Maine, funnily enough). I was in charge of dessert, and since the first of the fresh, local strawberries were popping up, I decided to make a Smitten Kitchen recipe that I had had my eye on for awhile.

IMG_2753

I love biscuits, and these make an excellent strawberry shortcake base. As I did not alter the recipe at all, I will simply link to it below.

Strawberries and Cream Strawberry Shortcake

You will need:

-One batch Strawberries and Cream Biscuits

-Extra fresh strawberries for topping (slice and sprinkle with sugar so they release their juices)

-Whipping cream (add sugar or maple syrup and whip)

Assembly is self-evident:

IMG_2756

 

I hope all of my U.S. readers have an excellent holiday, and I hope the rest of you have an excellent weekend 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

