Dark ‘n Stormies

Sunset at camp.

Sunset at camp.

“Tennessee, Tennessee, there ain’t no place I’d rather be,” goes the Grateful Dead song.

Well, I’m not in Tennessee, but I sure know how the Dead were feeling when they sang that song. When it comes to the summer time, there ain’t no place I’d rather be than the lake.

I’ve probably waxed nostalgic about this before, but when my sister and I were young ‘uns, we would spend the entire summer at camp with my mom (thanks to my father, to whom I will be forever grateful for the opportunities he has given us). Even now, as grown-ups (ha-ha), we still want to spend as much time there as possible.

My beautiful sister relaxing on the porch.

My beautiful sister relaxing on the porch.

We have been lucky this year to spend time at camp as a family of six — my parents, my sister & brother-in-law, Sean, and myself. Together, we eat a lot, swim as much as possible, hike some, fish a little here and there, and bird watch, to name a few things.

Alice and me, atop Borestone Mountain.

Alice and me, atop Borestone Mountain. Yes, we’re wearing the same shirt. No, we didn’t plan it.

Andrew sights a yellow-rumped warbler.

Andrew sights a yellow-rumped warbler.

Sean prepares to catch a massive bass on a popper.

Sean prepares to catch a massive bass on a popper.

Today, I will share with you my family’s favorite mixed drink. We’re mostly wine and beer people, but this one is particularly refreshing on a sunny day — or a dark and stormy day.

Dark and stormies sweating on the porch.

Dark and stormies sweating on the porch.

Dark and Stormy

This is a formula that I have used for a long time, and I’m not even sure where it came from. Alice and Andrew first taught me how to make this drink, but this is not even the “correct” formula they taught me. I have just found that this is easiest and tastiest way to assemble them.

Ingredients:

Black spiced rum or dark rum, such as Kraken or Tattoo

Ginger beer (not ginger ale), such as Maine Root, Eli’s, or Reed’s

Lime, outside washed

Directions:

For a stronger drink: Pour 2 shots rum of rum over some ice. Follow with 1 bottle ginger beer and 1/4 lime. Drop the lime into the drink after you squeeze it.

For a less-strong drink: Pour 1 shot of rum over some ice. Follow with 1/2 bottle ginger beer and 1/4 lime. Again, drop the lime in.

Now sit back, relax, and float downstream.

Now sit back, relax, and float downstream.

Leave a Reply

