Fland’s Summer Reading List

Although I enjoy an occasional Netflix spree, my heart belongs to books. So, in honor of the end of summer, I thought I would post a list of the books I read this summer that I enjoyed.

SeanRead

Non-Fiction

The God Delusion, by Richard Dawkins

Very much worth a read. I spoke about it more here.

Lean In, by Sheryl Sandberg

Curious about the role of women in the corporate role? Not sure if you have to choose between a career and kids? I found this book thought-provoking.

Billions and Billions, by Carl Sagan

Definitely a book for the less technically inclined, but there is also something for those who have already been through physics. This was the last book that Sagan wrote before he died.

Plastic, by Susan Freinkel

All about the material that dominates our current age. It is both fascinating and terrifying.

Fiction

Population 485, by Michael Perry

Not for those with a weak stomach. All about a volunteer fire-fighter in a tiny town.

His Dark Materials, a trilogy by Philip Pullman (The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife, and The Amber Spyglass)

This is a re-read for me and a first-time read for Sean. If you like a story with a lot of depth, but also with a lot of imagination, this is for you.

The River Why, by David James Duncan

Sure, this book is all about fishing, but it’s also all about self-discovery.

The Other Boleyn Girl, by Philippa Gregory

This was not at all what I expected. I expected a slightly trashy romance novel and instead found a tactfully written, mildly historical account of Anne Boleyn’s sister’s life.

Fairy Tales from the Brothers Grimm: A New English Version, edited by Philip Pullman

Oh so much fun, and excellent pre-bed “snacking,” if you will. Pullman is my favorite author, and he does wonders with these old classics.

Leave a Reply

