Keema Matar with Garlic Naan

Remember that time I said I would post a recipe for naan? Well, good friends, I have not forgotten. I am finally getting around to it!

Garlic scape naan.

Garlic scape naan.

I first tried making my own naan this summer as an accompaniment to some homemade chicken gyros (which, I have been informed, is pronounced like the European currency (euro) rather than like a gyroscope). The recipe I used called for garlic, but since we were overrun with garlic scapes at the time, I used them instead. Deeeee-licious.

The second time I made it, it was to go with my dad’s newly discovered dish, which he called “lamb and peas.” I have since discovered that it is actually called Keema Matar. In order to make this dish, you need over eight difference spices of varying rarity, a good bit of time, and a willingness to try something different. But O, it is so worth it all.

Keema Matar

Keema Matar and Naan

This is not an inexpensive college meal; the only reason I found it affordable was because we have the Natural Living Center nearby, which has bulk spices. Things like cardamom pods and whole cinnamon sticks are not easy to come by, and can cost you an arm and a leg, but buying just the amount that I needed meant that I spent less than $10 for all of the spices that this dish calls for. It is a very complex and flavorful dish, and I would not advise leaving out any of the spices, so I’m afraid you have to act a little like a “fat cat” to make Keema Matar.

I did use ground beef rather than ground lamb, because it’s less expensive, but I should stress that using ground beef makes this definitely NOT Keema Matar, because that would be some insensitive crap.

Sorry for the cruddy iphone pics...it's tastier than it looks!

Sorry for the cruddy iphone pics…it’s tastier than it looks!

So, without further ado, I give you the recipes (I made no modifications, so I will simply direct you to them):

Keema Matar

Garlic Naan

As a transplanted Massachusettsian, I frequently miss the glorious Indian restaurants that were in and around my hometown. Making Keema Matar transported me back to a place of comfort while simultaneously taking me on a journey of fragrance and flavor. I highly recommend that you make this and take that journey yourself!

3 thoughts on “Keema Matar with Garlic Naan

Leave a Reply

