Chili and Cornbread with Chandler

I may not be unique in posting a hearty, warm soup as we descend into the Dark Months, but it is high time I put a chili recipe on here, considering I decided I would do that way back in April. This particular recipe is a classic chili recipe, including ketchup and Worcestershire sauce, and my brother-in-law sent it to me back in 2010. I finally got around to following the recipe instead of throwing some beans in a pot with some chili powder, and I am so glad that I did. Aside from the time Alice tried to kill me with gumbo, I have found that there is some magic that goes into their food that always makes it yummier than anything I try to make. Following their recipe was a start…

Cooking is exhausting for Chandler.

Cooking is exhausting for Chandler.

I added some sausage to my chili to spice it up a little bit. We can get North Country smoked sausage at our local Hannaford, and if you can get your paws on some of that, it is well worth popping it in your chili. Otherwise, a third can of beans or a pound of ground beef can replace the sausage.

Yummm.

Yummm.

Spicy Sausage Chili

Adapted from my sister’s recipe, which I believe is a combination of several recipes.

Ingredients:

2 medium or 1 large yellow onion, chopped

5 cloves garlic, minced

2 peppers, chopped (I used 1 green and 1 red)

1 poblano pepper, chopped

1 heaping Tbsp dried oregano

1 heaping Tbsp ground cumin

1 tsp ground coriander

1 Tbsp paprika

1 Tbsp chili powder

1 tsp chipotle powder

1 tsp Worcestershire sauce

1 Tbsp ketchup

1 lb smoked sausage, chopped

(2) 15-0z cans beans, drained and rinsed (I used red beans and black beans, and you could also use 2 cups of soaked beans)

(2) 14.5-oz cans diced tomatoes (I recommend fire-roasted if you don’t have any home-canned tomatoes)

4-6 cups chicken stock

Directions:

1. Sauté onions and peppers until soft. Add garlic and sauté until fragrant, but not browned. (Note: If you are cooking with raw meat, you’ll want to brown it after sautéing just the onions).

2. While veggies are sizzling, measure out all of the spices, up to the ketchup, into a bowl. When the veggies are soft, stir in the mixture of spices until everything is thoroughly coated.

3. Add your rinsed beans, tomatoes, chopped sausage, and add enough chicken stock to cover the ingredients, and bring to a boil.

4. Simmer for 30 minutes or until beans are done (if using soaked beans).

Serve with sliced avocado, plain Greek yogurt, and cornbread (below).

Cornbread

From The Joy of Cooking.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup AP flour

2.5 tsps baking powder

2 tbsp sugar

3/4 tsp salt

1.5 cups cornmeal

1 egg

3 tbsp melted butter

3/4 cups milk

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F and grease a 9×9 baking dish.

2. Mix the dry ingredients in one bowl and the wet in another and combine without excessive stirring.

3. Bake for 20 minutes or until golden around the edges.

One thought on “Chili and Cornbread with Chandler

Leave a Reply

