Bananas and Pecans: A Match Made in Heaven

I mentioned in my Arizona post that we stayed on a pecan farm, and in spite of our best efforts to drown ourselves in turtles and candied pecans, we have been looking for ways to eat them up. I consulted my favorite book, the Flavor Bible, and saw that bananas and pecans are a good match. Thus began the tasty marriage of bananas and pecans in the house of Fland.

photo

Here are two of our favorites so far:

Banana Rum “Ice Cream” With Candied Pecans

We’ve all seen the banana “ice cream” recipe on Pinterest. This is the one I originally experimented with.

To make the candied pecans, follow this recipe (it makes way more than you will need for this, but the pecans are excellent on their own, too).

Banana Rum Ice Cream (makes enough for two)

Ingredients:

2 bananas

1 shot rum

1 tbsp skim milk

Directions:

1. Cut up the two bananas into small slices and put them on a cookie sheet. Put in the freezer for about an hour or until frozen. It is important that they be in slices, because I’ve heard that  putting whole bananas in your food processor might burn out the motor.

2. Put the frozen banana slices, rum, and milk in a food processor and process until smooth.

3. Divide into two bowls and top with candied pecans.

Peanut Butter Pancakes with Bananas and Roasted Pecans

Peanut butter pancakes are something I never thought about until I was trying to think of something yummy to make my friend Katrina for breakfast when she stayed over and she told me she doesn’t like syrup on pancakes. I asked her if she liked peanut butter, and she said she loves peanut butter, but she also likes plain pancakes. So why not combine the two? I did some googling and found an excellent recipe that I highly recommend you check out. The recipe’s author recommends putting bananas and peanuts on top…but since we didn’t have any peanuts, I thought some roasted pecans might be tasty. And boy, were they ever.

Roasting nuts isn’t rocket science, but if you haven’t done it before, here’s what you do: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and spread some nuts on a cookie sheet. For the pecans, it took about 15 minutes for them to become browned and fragrant.

One thought on “Bananas and Pecans: A Match Made in Heaven

Leave a Reply

