Sweet and Sour Balti Chicken

I have been raving about this recipe to anybody who would listen since I made it, so I thought I’d put it on here for ease of sharing. I found this cookbook for $3 at our local Bullmoose and bought it for its step-by-step photography (helpful for a visual learner with reading comprehension issues such as myself). I can’t wait to try more of the recipes, because this one was so good that Sean and I devoured the entire thing in one evening. Gluttons.

IndianCookbookThis is a good Indian food recipe because it doesn’t require a laundry list of difficult-to-find spices. Those types of recipes are fun (take my favorite, Keema Matar, for example), but this is an excellent, tasty, quick-to-make dish for those nights when you don’t have time to measure out 50 different spices.

Sweet and Sour Bali Chicken

From the New Indian Curry Cookbook by Shehzad Husain (pictured above). Serves 4. Cooking time around 30 min (excluding rice cooking).

Ingredients

3 tbsp  tomato paste or pureé

2 tbsp Greek yogurt

1 1/2 tsp garam masala

1 tsp chili powder

1 tsp garlic pulp (the author makes this in a food processor…I just minced mine)

2 tbsp mango chutney (we found this at our NLC…I’m not sure how hard it is to find)

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp sugar (optional, I left it out and it was still quite sweet)

4 tbsp corn oil (vegetable oil works fine)

1 1/2 lb chicken, cubed

2/3 cup water

fresh green chiles, chopped (two tablespoons of the canned kind work fine)

2 tbsp chopped fresh cilantro

2 tbsp cream (half ‘n half works fine)

Directions

1. Start cooking your rice (unless you happen to have that 10-minute boil-in-bag stuff, which I don’t recommend because it comes in plastic packaging, but it does come in handy sometimes…). Also, if you want to make naan, you will also have to do that ahead of time.

2. Mix together the ingredients up to sugar in a medium mixing bowl.

3. In a wok or deep frying pan, heat the oil. Add the spice mixture and reduce the heat to medium. Boil  and stir for 2 minutes.

4. Stir in the chicken, making sure it gets evenly coated in the spice mixture.

5. Add the water and cook for another 5-7 minutes until the chicken is tender.

6. Add the rest of the ingredients and cook until the chicken is done (~2 minutes).

7. Serve with rice and naan.

4 thoughts on “Sweet and Sour Balti Chicken

    • I would use the firmest stuff you can buy and just cook it til it’s warmed through so it doesn’t disintegrate, but I bet it would be tasty with tofu!

Leave a Reply

