Gratitude

20140624-133742-49062314.jpg

Today I am grateful for the people who see when you need a pick-me-up. My coworker, Houri, brought this for me today, and whether or not she knew it, I really needed it.

20140624-142102-51662638.jpg

I am also immensely grateful for all of the friends and family who have been so excellent to me in this particularly trying time. I couldn’t do it without y’all.

20140624-142234-51754786.jpg

Some day, hopefully soon, I will have the energy (and Internet) for a full blog post. Stay tuned for a hopefully plastic-free July. Also, any hints, tips, tricks, bamboozles, cults, swindles, etc. to help me sleep are welcome. In fact, I beg you for them.

(I have already tried: Melatonin, only drinking decaf, over the counter sleep aids, reserving the bed only for sleep, reading until I fall asleep, not looking at screens for an hour before bed, keeping the cats shut out, earplugs, eye masks, going to bed at the same time, and voodoo.)

6 thoughts on “Gratitude

  1. Hmm…good suggestions! I have an overhead fan in my new place which has helped some. Reading definitely helps, too. I’m probably too scentsitive (yes, it’s a made up word) for candles, although I wonder if they make real lavender-scented ones.

  2. Tazo makes a tea called “rest” which is pretty reliable help for me (it tastes a little funny, but that’s the valerian). I also swear by a suppliment by Nature’s way called Ex-Stress. Take two, turn down the lights, start reading something soothing, and 45 minutes later you’ll be out.

  3. Do you exercise? Not right before bed, obviously. But I often find that I sleep better on days when I’ve gone for a run/bike ride. Although “better” is a somewhat relative term when it comes to insomnia…

    • I exercise in the sense that I walk everywhere I go (at least, but usually more than, 12000 steps a day according to my FitBit), but I’m starting to think I need to do something a little more vigorous. Too bad I hate exercising for exercise sake. Guess I’ll have to change my brain a little ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

