San Francisco

Last January, I traveled from here…

IMG_5978

The Kennebec!

…to here:

IMG_5996

Beautiful San Francisco.

It was a quick trip, thanks to a well-placed holiday, some carefully accrued PTO, and a gracious host. I hadn’t been to SF since I was a little kid, so I really enjoyed re-familiarizing myself with the city…not to mention seeing all kinds of amazing bridges.

IMG_6034

One such bridge in the Japanese Tea Garden in Golden Gate Park

IMG_6068

The Bay Bridge in all her glory at night.

As trivial as it sounds, I really enjoyed riding around on the public transportation. It’s a sad commentary about the way that we live on the east coast that transit is a novelty…

IMG_6051

Waiting for the bus.

It was the first vacation I’d taken since I started working (aside from short breaks for Thanksgiving and Christmas), so relaxation was the name of the game. I ate plenty of burritos, drank plenty of one-of-a-kind drinks, met a surprising number of transplanted New Englanders, and soaked up as much California sun as I could manage.

IMG_6086

Some down time with Bowie.

I even got to have dinner with my aunt, who I hadn’t seen in as long as I hadn’t been to SF. It was such a short visit, and even though I got to see some amazing people and do some amazing things, I wish I’d had more time to explore more of the city (and drink more amazing west coast coffee and beer). Perhaps I will find time to go back some day!

IMG_6095

A view of the city from the tower at the De Young Museum

Leave a comment